Day 5 – The Queen’s House

So, I am a day late…ugh, and it is only day 5, but I have a great excuse!  We went into London for the day and didn’t get home until 3am, and I don’t really function well at that time of day.

London was amazing, as always.  We decided to spend the day in Greenwhich (pronounced Grenich) just outside of London.  We visited the Prime Meridian, it is that silly invisible line that goes from the north pole to the south pole…where time starts and stops.  Well, actually you add hours if you go west and subtract hours if you go right…I think someone messed that up a while ago.  Never the less it is where the western and eastern hemispheres are split.  The image that I chose for day 5 was taken only feet away from the Prime Meridian.

This photo was only one of several beautiful pictures that I took in Greenwhich.  It was a beautiful spring-like day with rod-iron fences, large open parks, the Thames, blooming flowers and double-decker buses.  Still, this picture stood out the most. I think it is the contrast of the Queens House (built in 1635) and the sky-scrapers of London’s business area that kept drawing me to it. It also shows part of London’s history with the smoke stacks to the right as well as England’s life blood, the Thames river.  This is a place that I can call home and will be part of me for the rest of my life, and I managed to get it all in one picture.

Until the next post, goodnight!

Jenna

Adjustments: cropping, contrast, vibrance

This entry was published on March 6, 2011 at 7:43 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Day 5 – The Queen’s House

  1. The Queen has a nice view of downtown at night I bet! So was it AM or PM at the invisible line? lol

Let me know what you think!

