Day 30

This gate actually means a lot to me.  It belongs to the house where my 92-year-old neighbor lived.  She passed away this last October, but before she died she invited me into her life.  After falling and hurting her arm, she very politely asked if I would check in on her in the evenings to help with anything that she couldn’t do with only one hand.  Soon her arm made a full recovery but she really enjoyed our time together, even if I just came over and said I was tired or stressed.  One of my favorite memories with her was when Josh was out-of-town at a conference and she invited me over for a drink…She meant sherry and I thought wine. Needless to say, we had a couple of glasses of wine while I planted some bulbs in her garden (they are just starting to bloom now) and she gossiped about The Royal Family.

Taking this picture helped me to remember her, which meant that I missed her too.  I am glad that I get to share this little glimpse of her with you.

RIP Phyl

Adjustments: contrast, vignette

Until tomorrow, good night.

Jenna x

This entry was published on March 30, 2011 at 10:32 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Day 30

  1. Pingback: …::: NJ Brideau :::… » Blog Archive » Spring is in the air

  2. She was lucky to have you

  3. Shawna on said:

    Jenna: This almost made me cry. You are such a beautiful person. Thanks for the story and what a fantastic picture!

  4. Awe, she love them. You gave her comfort too.

    What is it about gates I love?!

Let me know what you think!

