Day 51

The Basilica Cistern is a 6th century underground water container.  The dimly lit stone columns and the glossy reflective water would have set the perfect scene for an Indian Jones movie.  Not the easiest features to capture in a picture, so next time I visit I will take a tripod.  The light, the refection, the detail in the stones, and the architecture that has been able to withstand water for thousands of years, all deserves to be captured in a great picture.  Unfortunately, all I had was my camera and a thin post to balance the camera on.

Adjustments: contrast and hue

Until next time, good night.

Jenna x

This entry was published on April 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Day 51

  1. I love this picture. It looks like something I’ve seen in a movie. When I first saw it I thought ‘wow the floor is so shiney it looks like water’.

  2. Pingback: Day 52 Columns of Light « Blog Archive « Take a picture…it will last longer!

Let me know what you think!

