Day 86 Painted Rose

We have this amazing photo hanging above our fireplace of the Martis Valley in California at sunset.  The photo was digitally turned into a painting and printed on watercolor paper, which was torn around the edges (about an inch away from the picture creating a kind of matting) to give it a sort of rustic, unfinished look.  The watercolor paper was then set on black matting and framed in an unfinished wood frame.  I bought it for Josh’s birthday a few years back and we both like it so much that we moved it to Oxford with us. It is nice to have a view of the mountains from home while in England.

I have wanted to try this style of editing for a while and I am glad that I finally have the time.  I took a picture that I thought would look good as a painting.  Then I used Photoshop to turn the fine lines of the photo into softer thicker lines of a painting.  The picture looked a bit funny with just the paint daubs filter so I added texture.  My guess is you could add the texture in Photoshop or by printing the picture on canvas or other textured paper.  I used a texturizer filter for this picture.

Hopefully, I will have more pictures like this soon.

Adjustments: hue, contrast, brightness, paint daubs, texturize

Until next time, good night.

Jenna x

This entry was published on May 25, 2011 at 9:11 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Day 86 Painted Rose

  1. Kieran Hamilton on said:

    Nice pic, I think you did a good job of making it look like a painting.

  2. didex on said:

    Great job,,, awesome picture 🙂

Let me know what you think!

