Day 96 Black and White

I feel like I am not very good at taking black and white pictures… And I call myself an Ansel Adams fan! Ha!  Well, here is the first time I have shared an attempt at taking a black and white picture.

I have read a lot of information on how to take black and white pictures lately and I have noticed that the photography community is divided in two on this topic.  Some say that you should only take color pictures and then adjust them to be b&w (this allows you the option of leaving the picture in color or changing it.)  And others say that you should take b&w if you want a b&w.  I took the picture in color and then adjusted it tob&w by un-saturating it.  Personally, I prefer this method because I don’t like to take all of the color out of the photo.  It seems that if you take out all of the color then you are left with dull blacks and greys, but if you leave a little color (usually red) then you get rich blacks and detailed greys…maybe that’s just me.  What is your experience with this?

Adjustments: hue, contrast, saturation, tone, temperature, vignette

Until next time, goodnight.

Jenna x

This entry was published on June 7, 2011 at 9:45 am. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Day 96 Black and White

  1. I get lost in shots like that, so much to see in there. Keep up the good work.

Let me know what you think!

