Day 132 Evening Lights

I know that there are things in this picture that are not great to look at (like the trash bins and recycle area) but the aim of this picture was to balance light.  If I exposed the picture for the sky then the back of the building and all the things in that area were black.  If I exposed it for the back of the building then the sky would look like it was midday and the lights would not be visible.  I wanted to be able to see the building and the other things in that area, although I did not want any of them to be the subject, and I wanted the sky to be as close to the actual blue color as possible. I know that there are techniques such as HDR but I wanted to see what I could do with the camera and minor changes in Photoshop.  (HDR is a technique that I plan to learn sometime in the future.)

In the end I had to use the underexposed photo and bring back some the light.  I wanted the lights to be the subject so I wish they would have stood out more.  I know it’s not great, but I am starting to get an idea of the limits of the camera and my ability.

Adjustments: contrast, hue, brightness, exposure

Until next time,

Jenna x

This entry was published on July 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Let me know what you think!

