Day 177 Bottle of Information

I am one of those people who understands the need for a government.  I like that they fund schools, build roads, hire police, fire and medical people and that in general they keep order in a world of people with different wants and needs.  What I don’t like is when the government tries to run my life.  This picture is an example of what I am talking about.

I don’t mind the cute little pregnant lady with a line through her (although I think that it is not necessary to tell people not to drink while they are pregnant, it is not new information and can be regarded as common knowledge now), or the percentage of alcohol in the bottle, or the message at the top to drink responsibly.  These all put the responsibility of drinking in the hands of the drinker. What I do mind is that grid in the middle.

GOVERNMENT GUIDELINES: DO NOT REGULARLY EXCEED! Now, how does the government know that I can only have 1 pint of beer a day?  What if 1 pint a day was too much?  What if I was 6′ tall and weighed as much as a man, then could I have 2 pints a day?

I don’t smoke, so I don’t know, but does it say on a pack of cigarettes that you can only smoke 1 a day if you are a women and 2 a day if you are a man? Or what about on a can of Coke, children may only consume 1 can a day? (By the way, I think that a can of soda is as bad for you as a pint of beer.) Or on meat, or sweets, or how much TV you watch in a day?

I like to think that most people can think independently about what is ok for them and what is not. Give people the tools to make the choices, but let them make the choice for themselves.

Until next time,

Jenna x

*I think I could rant and rave all day about alcohol regulation.  Who knew that a picture could make me get up on my soapbox?!

Adjustments: contrast, hue, sharpening, vignette

This entry was published on October 20, 2011 at 9:14 am. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Day 177 Bottle of Information

  1. I’m pretty much in agreement with you here. 🙂
    I think that the government should be saying “DID YOU KNOW” instead of “YOU SHOULD”

Let me know what you think!

