Day 277 The Fungus Among Us

In late autumn (before the rain and the snow) my husband and I went out foraging for fire wood. We started in October and by the time we got to late November things were getting wet.  Neither of us have ever been mushroom hunting (not sure if it is called that) and we only know the basic popular mushrooms like Button, Portobello, Shiitake, and so on.  I also know of a mushroom that grows year round and can be dried out and used to start a fire, like paper…but I can’t remember what it is called.

I tried to use my regular lens to get up close to these little mushrooms that were sticking off this log as though they had been peeled away from the bark.  I am not sure what they are called, but they are wild British mushrooms that grow in Oxford’s nature preserves.

Until next time,

Jenna x

Adjustments: contrast, hue, sharpness, cropping, vignette

This entry was published on March 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Day 277 The Fungus Among Us

  1. I love how you highlighted the beauty of this by blurring out the background. Such a wonderful shot

  2. Hi again Jenna, It’s been a long time! I still have to catch up with your latest posts!

    Wow…I loved that, it is like an out-of-foucs picture, right? You have to teach me how to do that, seriously! 🙂

  3. Hi Jenna, how have you been?

    It’s been such a long time! I think that Ive missed more than a month of your posts, omg, I really need to cath up with all of them 😉

    I like this out of focus effect. I really want you to teach me how to do that lol! It’s really nice, Jenna! looks so professional ^^

    See you soon!

  4. Hi Jenna, how have you been?

    It’s been such a long time! I think that Ive missed more than a month of your posts, omg, I really need to cath up with all of them 😉

    I like this out of focus effect. I really want you to teach me how to do that lol! It’s really nice, Jenna! looks so professional ^^

    See you soon!

    • Did you see that I threw to you 3 messages?

      I sended them to your comment section and they pulled me out of wordpress I dont know why maybe I wasnt logged on.

      Both anonymous messages it’s me. I’m sorry I didnt mean to spam your post, but I thought that I was sended you only one single message.

      As you can realise, the three message’s got almost the same structures with little modifications because I did not remember all the previous message once they pulled me out of wordpress and had to come back loging on and resending the comment lol

      Such a crazy anecdote lol

      • Haha yeah I figured that they were all you. Don’t worry about it, these things happen. I am just glad that you are stopping by again. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

