Day 279 Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle

If you know me well you might call me a tree-hugger.  What can I say I love trees, and grass, and flowers, and blue skies.  I can’t help it, I love nature.

One thing that I absolutely love about England, is that they have many options for a person to choose from when dealing with their waste.  Each house is given the two green bins and a gray bin; and the brown bin comes with a yearly subscription (yes an extra fee).  Each bin has its own special job; the tall green bin is for recycling (glass, plastic, paper, cardboard, and aluminum…all in the same bin), the small green bin is for food waste to be composted, the gray bin is for all other household waste (not batteries and other things that need to be disposed of properly), and the brown bin is for garden waste.

Now, look at the bins, what do you notice?  Look at the size of the bins…do you see it?  That’s right, the gray bin (normal household waste) in the smallest!  Who would have thought!  Well the British government did.

The average annual household waste has reduced by nearly 580 lbs!*  And multiply that by how many houses there are in England… I don’t know millions!  So that is 580,000,000+ lbs of waste that did NOT go into a landfill.  This means that about 40%* of household waste is now being recycled.  I don’t know about you, but I’m impressed.

Until next time,

Jenna x

Adjustments: contrast, hue, cropping, vignette

*Statistics found at defra.gov.uk

This entry was published on March 26, 2012 at 8:26 pm. It’s filed under 365 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Day 279 Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle

  1. When you put it that way, I’m wheelie impressed too. 😀

  2. Very impressive. And I love this photo as well

  3. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

Let me know what you think!

